16th Annual Abqaiq Open


16th Annual Abqaiq Open Summary

The 16th Annual Abqaiq Open was held on March 7, 2014.  Always a popular event, our club’s signature tournament drew competitors from across Saudi Arabia and Bahrain.  Weather was perfect for golf, with a gentle breeze offsetting warm temperatures under a blue sky.  Participants arrived as early as 5:30 am to practice ahead of the shotgun start at 8:30 am.  The 78 golfers finished their rounds in the early afternoon and everyone enjoyed a catered luncheon while scores were entered.

After the scores were tabulated the results were announced at the luncheon.  Champion is Mr. Salim Khalifa Masood of the Bahrain Golf Club.  Mr. Masood was impressive with a gross score of 72, par for the Abqaiq golf course.  Also impressive was the performance of Mr. Stuart Leach, the Ain Nakhl Golf Club’s Vice-President, who won net first place with a score of 64.



Congratulations to our Abqaiq Open Champion, Mr. Salim Masood (far left) and to all our winners recognized at the Open award ceremony.

         Gross Score 
Net Score  
  1st Place Salim Masood
Stuart Leach
  2nd Place  Khalid Al-Athem
Freddie Santiago
  3rd Place  Brett Bradford
Abdulla Al-Khabbi
  4th Place  Paul Stent
Mohammed Al-Fedhala
  5th Place  Yousef Al-Mrbati
Abdullabaki Ben Mansour
  6th Place  Hamad Al-Athem
Roziah Daud
  7th Place   Sultan Abdulla Mubarak
Athole McDonald


The Ain Nakhl Golf Club would like to thank all of this year’s participants and volunteers who've made the 2014 Abqaiq Open one of the most memorable tournaments in recent memory.

Special thanks goes to Abqaiq Recreation for improving the course to its best condition in well over 10 years and to Abqaiq Security for their assistance before, during, and after the event.  Without their kind support this event could not happen.

Thank you…

The ANGC Board would like to thank all the participants who've made this year's Abqaiq Open one of the most enjoyable tournaments in recent memory. 

In addition, the Board would like to thank:

Saudi Aramco

Abqaiq Recreation

Abqaiq Security

Event Sponsors


Rosen Inspection


Premier Wealth Solutions

Event Volunteers

Derrick Smith, Tournament Chairman

Scott Baird, Tournament Director
Len Sykes, Tournament Director
Stuart Leach, Course Preparation
Matt Hope, Prize Coordination

Sue Kelley, Security Coordination
Michele Lazarus, Security Coordination

Kimberly Leeman, Registration

Kevin Leeman, Security

Jim Burleson, Registration and Scoring
Donna Burleson, Registration

Peter Martin, Marshall and Scoring

Hassan M. Sadeek, Marshall/Coordinator

Graeme Moss, Cart Coordination
George Quinn, Cart Assistance
Joe Francisco, Coordination
Rosalio Marcos, Photographer

Peddy Davantes, Accounting and Preparation

Eddie Mendoza, Treasurer

Event Personnel

Snack Bar Staff

Sweeps and Grounds Staff

AFS Catering Staff

And everyone else who’ve contributed to the success of this tournament!

  Pictures from the Event